Why you Should Teach English to see the World

 I wrote another article for Wanderingeducators.com about teaching English. Here is the beginning ๐Ÿ™‚ (read full article here )

Why you Should Teach English to see the World

IMG_20160629_140029398_HDR.jpg

Ever since I was little, I knew that I wanted a job that would help peopleโ€ฆ I just didnโ€™t know what. Up until six months ago, I was a regular high school student. I was on track for going to college, and then working a 9-5 desk job that would probably not help anyone. But then my family started full time traveling, and I discovered a world full of opportunities that were new to me.

 

(read the rest here: https://www.wanderingeducators.com/best/stories/why-you-should-teach-english-see-world.html )

8 thoughts on “Why you Should Teach English to see the World

  1. Pingback: Why you Should Teach English to see the World โ€” Where My Carry-on Takes Me – Paul's Courses

  2. Pingback: Why you Should Teach English to see the World | Teach English Abroad

  3. Thanks Julie! You couldn’t be more right with that. Teaching is definitely not for everyone, thankfully there are so many other fun jobs to be had while traveling! Have fun on all your adventures as well ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Another great article, Izzy! You sure know how to write to entice people! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Teaching English abroad sure is a wonderful opportunity and opens one’s mind even more so, while living with the locals and following their habits. Nevertheless, I regret that, in most countries, only speaking good English allows you to teach; because, as in translating/interpreting (which is my day-to-day job in France), knowing the language is not enough. To teach, you need patience, pedagogy, know how to share knowledge, etc…

    I was hired as an English and French teacher for 1 year in Mexico and didn’t thoroughly enjoy the experience. Even though I speak both languages easily (one of them being my native tongue), I don’t have the teaching skills.

    It just means I need to find other jobs abroad in order to keep travelling and feel good about! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Working as an assistant manager in a hostel in Patagonia, for example, was one of the best experience ever!

    Enjoy everthing you discover!
    Cheers to the family!
    Jul’

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Helping others always beats 9-5 behind a desk. Many people choose vocations based on the amount of money they will make for themselves with little regard for others. Often they will lead empty, non-productive lives with little happiness, direction or desire for living. So sad and so true. Giving to others always beats getting. It is the secret to happiness and life’s worth. You are learning at sixteen what some will never learn. Keep up the good work, your writing and life’s explorations. G.P.

    Like

Leave a Reply

